Holy shit, I like pie!



Finally!

Hellooo blog readers! (All three of you!)

 

I’m dusting the cobwebs off this bitch and finally catching you up on all things. When we were last together, I was competing in a Paleo challenge (went ok, lost ten pounds, then I fell off the wagon MASSIVELY) I trained manically for the Glass Slipper Challenge, I participated and FINISHED in the Glass Slipper Challenge (three medals, WHAT?) I celebrated a ten year wedding anniversary, I walked the Peachtree Road Race as a result of an injury acquired during the GSC (more on that later) and my beautiful baby girl graduated high school and went away to college.

WHEW! It’s no wonder this little corner of the web was neglected for so long!!

I realized recently though, that blogging was fun and therapeutic for me. So I’m here once again to take you through a host of new journeys that I’m about to embark on. First things first; still running in spite of an annoying injury that happened during the Disney Glass Slipper Challenge. As hard as it might be for you to believe, this injury didn’t happen by falling my face, but improper training (*ahem training to only ten miles *cough cough*) put a tremendous strain on my left hip causing a strain and some damn painful bursitis. Which may or may not be the same thing as the hip strain. Regardless that shit HURTS on the regular and really impacted my desire to run after GSC was completed

The good news is I’m rehabbing and taking medicine for it and this time? I’m TRAINING PROPERLY. That’s right, kids, I’ve signed up for my second Glass Slipper Challenge and I guess I’m a glutton for punishment, a masochist, or a sucker because this time I’m running #alltheraces. That’s right, this time around I’ll complete a 5k, 10k, and a half marathon in one blessed weekend. I’m super excited this time around because my cousin Faith is joining me for the 5k and 10k and my awesome friend Jenn is running her FIRST half marathon!  Before all of the magic and fun I have a lot of work to do to prepare. I’ve signed up for four races thus far and I’m sure more will follow. I have a 10k and a 10 miler in October, a 1/2 marathon in December and a 15k in January. My hope is that these races will keep me focused and training will continue as it should.

In case you missed it, this is my recap of my first Disney Princess Half Marathon weekend

http://www.runwalkrepeat.com/2014/03/2014-rundisney-glass-slipper-challenge-weekend-guest-post-my-first-half-marathon-recap/

 

It feels good to be back and I promise to entertain you at least weekly with tales of running, dieting, and just life in general. Thanks for reading!!

 

Leave a Reply

