Holy shit, I like pie!



That Time I Had My Uterus Lasered

Happy Friday to everyone!

I’m coming to you live from my Tempurpedic Cloud tonight since this old girl is recovering from an outpatient surgery I had today. No worries, it wasn’t anything serious and it was totally elective. I’m blogging about it in the hopes that if a woman is suffering from the condition that I had, you know there’s a way to get help and it can get better.

So what did I have done? I had three procedures today that included the removal of my IUD, an Endometrial Ablation, and a tubal ligation. What does that mean exactly?

Endometrial ablation is a procedure that destroys (ablates) the uterine lining, orendometrium. This procedure is used to treat dysfunctional or abnormal uterine bleeding. Sometimes a lighted viewing instrument (hysteroscope) is used to see inside the uterus. Endometrial ablation can be done by:

  • Laser beam (laser thermal ablation).
  • Heat (thermal ablation), using:
    • Radiofrequency.
    • A balloon filled with saline solution that has been heated to 85�C (185�F)(thermal balloon ablation).
    • Normal saline (heated free fluid).
  • Electricity, using a resectoscope with a loop or rolling ball electrode.
  • Freezing.
  • Microwave.

The endometrium heals by scarring, which usually reduces or prevents uterine bleeding.

Tubal Ligation is usually done in conjunction with this since the ablation does not prevent pregnancy. It’s having your tubes tied. 

Let me give you a bit of back story first. When I had Nate I had to choose a birth control method. I’ve not had the best luck with hormonal birth control because it made me nauseous even when I took it exactly as prescribed. Also, I’m kind of an irresponsible jackass that doesn’t remember to take medicines regularly and that kicked the nausea to a whole ‘nother level. All was going well with the IUD until a year ago. My periods began to occur more frequently, last longer, and were super heavy. As time passed, we would get to a three week cycle with a period that would last anywhere from 7-8 days and it would be heavy for six of those days. I talked to my doctor who suggested these procedures, but I was worried about downtime from work, cost, and I wasn’t totally sure we were done with growing our family.

After careful consideration, I decided this was the best decision for me. I am done having kids and truthfully am not a good pregnant or delivery person. Both of my pregnancies and deliveries have been very traumatic and I was tired of dealing with the periods. So, today I went in.

It was such a wonderful experience. The staff at Crescent Surgery were incredible and took great care of me. I was done in a matter of two hours from start to finish and back home by lunchtime. I did get sick when I got home because of my painkillers and not having anything besides animal crackers in my belly. I have been in pain that feels a lot like labor and had a very full, gassy feeling belly, but my meds have taken care of making me more comfortable. The incision area near my belly button is sore if I move a certain way but I credit CrossFit for strengthening my core and making it better than it could be.

The Happy/Crappy in this was that I started my period on Wednesday and usually by this time I am changing about four times a day. After surgery today I have had minimal bleeding and it’s so amazing. 

I’m happy to answer any questions especially if you’re considering this. 

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

