Holy shit, I like pie!



The journey begins…

Day one of my weight loss blog. I figured if I blogged about my experiences, it would help keep me motivated. Plus, there’s something to be said about seeing things in black and white that really put them into perspective. So, here we go….

I joined Weight Watchers this morning. I have been battling with my weight since giving birth to my first child twelve years ago. I know the problem is with me…I am a true “fat girl” in every sense of the word. I love sweets, carbonated drinks, carbs, red meat, and exercising is not my favorite thing in the world. One of my dearest friends who we’ll call “Em” started WW a few months back and has had really fantastic  results. I think her eating habits were a lot like mine currently are…so I’m excited that this plan has given her such fantastic results and hopeful it will help me as well.

In the last few months I’ve started to not like what I see in the mirror and how I feel physically. I had a bit of an epiphany a few months ago when I read Jen Lancaster’s new book, “Such A Pretty Fat.” It really hit home because, like Jen, I have this incredible self-esteem and didn’t think (back then) that my fat was such a bad thing. I’ve begun to realize since reading this wonderful book that in order to really get serious about weight loss I had to make some changes. Beginning with my attitude.

So..I’ve started growing up. I’m making choices and changes that will have a positive impact in my life. I really want to be there when my daughter graduates college and gets married. I want to see my son grow into a wonderful man with a family. So…I’m doing what I can to get there. Now comes the part I never thought I’d do. I’m going to post my starting weight. I know, it seems crazy, but I think that putting it out there will be a great motivator for me. So here goes…at this morning’s weigh- I came in at a robust……

238 lbs

Holy fuckballs. The ultimate weight loss goal is 75 lbs. For now, I’m taking it one day at a time and hope to see at least a 1-2 weight loss at next week’s weigh-in.  Cheer me on, will you? And if you’re a fellow WW member, leave me a shout in the comments section. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sam says:

    Yay, Julia! I have done WW before although I am not doing it right now, I will try to remember some good meals/snacks for you. My best WW advice is to drink lots and lots of water and eat a lot of zero or low point foods to fill you up– lots of veggies! Also, I just read Such a Pretty Fat and lmao. GL! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Brandi says:

    Julia…I just wanted to say that I love you and I love your motivation! You are the most beautiful person I know inside and OUT! If you feel better you’re only going to be better. I cant wait to watch this wonderful transformation! YOU GO GIRL!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Lee Anne says:

    LOL at fuckballs. I think that is my new favorite word 🙂 Good for you for wanting to be healthy! I’m sure you can do it!

    Lee Anne (to-be-lam)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Melissa says:

    You are such a great writer. I am sure you will keep me entertained through this. I am so proud of you and I know you will have much success!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  5. * michelle says:

    good luck queenie! your cheerleaders on the nest are behind you all the way!

    michelle (mrsmlvk)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Staci says:

    Good Luck Girl!! You’ll do great 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Georgia says:

    Good Luck Woman! WW is such a great plan and you will do great. I still eat my chocolate on the plan! haha

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Roxane says:

    Good luck with WW! (its roxhudson from the nest) It was how I finally got on and got committed! If you are ever looking for some motivation (and I know I need it sometimes when the thought of something sweet starts a craving!) I joined up with a woman I met on the WW fitness boards who lost over 100 pounds and became a trainer. Her website is http://phit-n-phat.com/. She has a blog and a free newsletter that I get in addition to her training services and its amazing how it will pick me up when I’m having a bad day. I’m reading through the site right now to get myself up and gone to the gym! Anyway, good luck again and kudos to starting up!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  9. * Donna says:

    Hi Julia. I’m rooting for you and please sprinkle some motivation to me.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  10. * Kim says:

    Good for you, Julia! I’m so proud of you 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Brandie says:

    You can do it. I started at 230 January 2004 and I finally reached my goal of 165 June 16, 2008. Just do it for you and noone else.

    Brandie

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  12. * Robin says:

    Julia! Just saw this and wanted to cheer you on!! I am so proud of you. Can’t wait to see how you rock this. Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

